The church of Saint Michael in Šmihel was first mentioned in connection to its diocese in 1296. There are remnants of a 13th century Roman building under the pavement of the Baroque presbytery as well as in the walls of the Baroque nave. The Roman structure is a unique semi-circular apse. The artist Matija Tomc made the main Baroque Revival altar in 1866, and the 18th century Baroque altar of the Holy Mary of Sorrows originates from the monastery church in Kostanjevica. A monumental cast iron tomb of the Langer family can be seen next to the church; it is one of the most beautiful pieces of art made at Dvor iron works.
GPS Northing (N) : 45,7937
GPS Easting (E) : 15,1649