Address: Vodopivčeva ulica 11, Kranj., 4000 Kranj
The beginnings of the dye-works, later known as Pirc’s dye-works, reach back to the first decades of the 18th century, and in less than a century, it developed into a medium-sized manufacturing plant. Mostly linen and cotton were dyed in the dye-works. In the second half of the 19th century the owner of the dye-works hired nearby farmers to weave linen, which he then bought in, dyed, printed and sold in his shop in town (at the former Peterček). Orders also came in from all major Austro-Hungarian cities. The dye-works remained in operation until the industrialisation process in the middle of the 20th century. In the memorial room visitors can see devices for fabric-ironing from 1797 and 1809. Work processes in the dye-works and production of linen are also presented. The collection is enriched by a grand legacy of bourgeois dressing culture which reveals the charm of former bourgeois life, family documents and documents on the development of the dye-works and shop as well as the cultu-ral, sporting and economical development of Kranj.
Visits possible upon previous arrangement with Darja Okorn (04/202 70 11, 040/79 11 96).
Entrance fee: 1 EUR per person.