Address: Lopar, Lopar, 6273 Marezige
Hiša od Bardinca (the Bardinc House) is a refur-bished Istrian country house and one of the villa-ge’s main attractions today.
Its reputation is due to its age, as it was built over a hundred years ago, at the time indicating the more modern construction of houses in Lopar, which predominantly came after the Second World War. In addition to the kitchen and cellar (canteen), economic facilities such as the stables, pigsty and hen house are important, as are stone paved yard, pergola and outer staircase. The soul of this old house is its family, which is one of the oldest in the village. The locals still remember the landlords Jože and Pepa Kavrečič, whose son Stanko remained at the farm with his family and engaged in agriculture and earning additional income from the cobbler’s and barber’s shop. After the war, some time around 1955, the family moved to Muggia near Trieste, where they opened a cobbler’s workshop and shoe store. After the Bardinc family moved to Trieste, their house in Lopar became a socially-owned property and welcomed new residents. Today, the multipurpose upper floor is an exhibition space showcasing objects from the Istrian farm culture and the historical, national and cultural collection from Lopar and its surroundings. The museum collection is completed by the ground floor and the preserved kitchen and fireplace, kitchen utensils and utensils for baking bread, as well as the cellar holding a 152 years old winepress from Osp. In front of the house is also the oldest thresher in Slovenia, dating back to 1803.