Address: Gornji trg 1000 Ljubljana
The Church of St. Florian was commissioned by the citizens of Ljubljana in memory of the great fire which devastated the Stari trg and Gornji trg squares in 1660. Built after 1672, the church burnt down in 1774. Since then it has undergone several reconstructions. It was given its present appearance by the architect Jože Plečnik, who reconstructed it between 1933 and 1934. Plečnik had the former door recess filled with the statue of St. John Nepomuk carved by Francesco Robba in 1727 for the chapel by the bridge over the Sava river in the suburb of Črnuče, landscaped the church's surrounding area, and built the nearby walking path to Ljubljana Castle.
The large fresco of Our Lady of Mercy above the church door was painted by Janez Potočnik at the end of the 18th century. The niches above the fresco are adorned with statues of Charles the Great and St. Charles Borromeo. A supposedly original portrait sculpture of a citizen of the Roman Emona is built into the wall above the terrace. The church's interior still boasts Baroque paintings of saints, altars and other furnishings.