Please, evaluate the offer:


Info TownsAccommodationAttractionsActivitiesEventsFood & WineMore
285 m
Height above sea level
in the countryside
Komen was first mentioned in 1247. With its hamlet Jablanec, it is situated in the middle of the Komen Karst and constitutes its administrative and economic centre. The heart of the village is its central square with the cultural hall and a monument in memory of those who perished during the fights for the national liberation and in exile (15th February, 1944 the village was burnt to the ground and most of the villagers were deported to Bavaria). Once there was a small gothic parish church standing on the spot, where today the parish church of St. George can be found. Since the original one was too small, it was demolished and a new baroque church was built in 1768. Near the church stands a single belfry built according to the Oglej type. Beside it is an old school, housing the cultural and artistic association. The Storici mansion, which today serves as the local clinic was designed by Max Fabiani in 1934. Nearby, the Cirje forest park begins with an arranged forest and walking learning trail, which, apart from passing by several species of trees, takes the visitor to a monument dedicated to the last forester of the Komen area Avgust Kafol, wells, a pil and the rests of a burial place from the First World War. In the lower part of the village there is the Luže well, which makes an ideal spot to take a break and enjoy in the breathtaking view of Komen and its surroundings. Viktor Kos was the dean of Komen from 1932 to 1971. When Komen was burnt to the ground he and vicar Mirko Rener deliberately joined the locals in their exile to Germany, where he stood by their side during their most difficult times. Both priests touched the hearts of locals as they did not abandon them even in the most tragic moments of wartime. Komen also treasures the church of the Virgin Mary from Obršljan, which can be reached following the left branch a good kilometre before the village. Once there was also a renowned God’s path, which was adorned with frescoes made by Giulio Quaglio in 1728. Today there is the eminent baroque church of St. George. 

Automobiles : Komen can be reached from: Nova Gorica, passing by Miren and Kostanjevica; from Branik; from Sežana through Dutovlje or through Štanjel; from Italy (Gorjansko, Klariči). 

GPS Northing (N) : 45,8167 
GPS Easting (E) : 13,745 
Destination: Karst
Place: Komen
View on map

Book & Buy

Age of children (at arrival)

Slovenia on social networks

Administrator : Občina Komen - TIC Štanjel | ++386 5 769 00 56 |
Report an error/send comment
Report an error/send comment


The website uses cookies to improve user experience. By visiting and using the website, you agree with cookies.
I agree
Read more