Please, evaluate the offer:



A protected area is defined by the IUCN  as an area of land or sea which is specifically intended for the protection and conservation of biodiversity and the natural and associated cultural wealth, and the administration of which is governed by law or any other effective form of governance.

The subject of the call for proposals for the project is protected areas designated by national or local legislation or regulations.

The protected areas and Natura 2000 areas of Slovenia are defined by the Nature Conservation Act .

Protected areas are:

1. Natural monuments
2. Dedicated nature reserves
3. Nature reserves
4. National parks
5. Regional parks
6. Landscape parks.
Natura 2000 (designated by the Decree on special protected areas):

7. Natura 2000 areas.

Slovenia's protected areas can be viewed on the interactive map.
In previous years six destinations of excellence were chosen in Slovenia: in 2008 The Soča Valley , in 2009 The Solčavsko region , in 2010 The Kolpa river , in 2011 Idrija, in 2013 Laško and in 2015 Brda

European Destinations of Excellence - EDEN Destinations in Slovenia are presented on tourist’s sites of portal:

EDEN 2008: The Soča Valley
EDEN 2009: The Solčavsko region
EDEN 2010: The Kolpa river
EDEN 2011: Idrija
EDEN 2013: Laško
EDEN 2015: Brda

Last news

All news

The project EDEN in 2016

The Slovenian destinations were contending for the title European Destinations of Excellence for the first time ...more

EDEN 2015 - Winning destination

As expected, the topic of this year's EDEN tender “TOURISM, LOCAL CUISINE AND GASTRONOMY” attracted the greatest ...more


View on map

Slovenia on social networks



The website uses cookies to improve user experience. By visiting and using the website, you agree with cookies.
I agree
Read more