On the steep hill just above Vipava
, there are picturesque ruins. A few examples of Mediterranean Evergreen Oak grow on the slope. The largest of them has the diameter of 55 cm.
The castle, most probably built in the 12th century, was first mentioned in 1275 as The Upper Castle. At that time, it was in the possession of the Patriarch of Acquilea. As a feudal estate, the castle changed hands very often. In 1344, its owners were the Habsburgs, in 1487 the Herberstein family. For a short period in the first half of the 16th century, Venetians occupied it, but the Habsburgs soon drove them away. After 1577, it belonged to the Lanthieris, who stopped using it in the 17th century and since then it has been falling apart.
Today, it is a popular walking spot for local people and other visitors, because you get a beautiful view of the whole Upper Vipava valley.Walking from Vipava to the castle takes approximately 30 minutes.
Glavni trg 1
Tel. : +386 5 368 70 41
Web site : www.vipavska-dolina.si
Free of charge
GPS Northing (N) : 45,8503
GPS Easting (E) : 13,9641